Saturday 21st of October 2023 - Saturday 16th of November 2024
Explore two exceptional Victorian Heritage Listed cottages... read more.
40 Gipps Street, Port Fairy, VIC, 3284
Sat Mar 16th, Sat Mar 30th, Sat Apr 6th, Sat Apr 13th, Sat May 4th, Sat May 18th, Sat Jun 1st
Explore two exceptional Victorian Heritage Listed cottages.
Mott’s Cottage the original timber cottage was built in 1842 by William Bird, a blacksmith. The two-storied stone building was completed in 1851, when it is understood that the building was used as a boarding house. The cottage has had a number of subsequent owners and was occupied by Sarah Mott in 1918, giving the cottage its title.
Mills’ Cottage, built in 1841, the original cottage is Victoria’s oldest surviving dwelling. The property was acquired by Charles Mills, a whaling captain, in 1843. Charles’ elder brother, Captain John Mills moved into the property and in 1856 added the larger substantial structure at the front of the building.
The cottages are open to the public on the first and third Saturday of the month every Saturday throughout School Holidays, closing in July and August.
- National Trust
- Family Friendly